Back to All Events

UCSB Summer Festival

  • UCSB Old Little Theater 494 UCEN Rd Isla Vista, CA, 93117 United States (map)

I will be performing The Mega4 Meta4 (1990), for viola and tape, is the fifth and final piece of Earthrise, a pentalogy of electroacoustic works by the Greek-Canadian composer, Christos Hatzis (b. 1953). Presented in partnership with the UCSB College of Creative Studies and the UCSB Multicultural Center, the Festival will focus on diversity by combining world-class contemporary music ensembles with Afro-Cuban and indie artists. The artists will perform at venues all over the UCSB campus, with no admission fees. This event is made possible by the generous support of the UCSB Office of Summer Sessions.

With the exception of the opening pentatonic theme, The Mega4 Meta4 is constructed entirely from quoted material (mainly from the four earlier pieces of Earthrise and from Albinoni's Adagio in G minor for Organ and Strings), and brings all the aesthetic and technical concerns of the earlier pieces in Earthrise to their logical conclusion. Throughout The Mega4 Meta4, religious symbolism and humour exist side-by-side in a mutually exclusive yet complementary partnership, creating a sense of "lightness" which permeates every aspect of the composition, notably in the choice of cheap 'street' material for example, and the conscious effort to realize the unexplored and often overlooked potential hidden within it. The Mega4 Meta4 was commissioned by violist Douglas Perry with a grant from the Ontario Arts Council, and takes its name from the Atari Mega4 ST computer, which Hatzis purchased a few days before embarking on the composition of this piece.

The Department of Music’s Resident Ensemble, the Now Hear Ensemble, will present a sampling of the boundary-defying works they have been performing over the last two years. The ensemble embraces “contemporary music and pop culture because [they] believe cross-genre approaches lead to new territories for creativity.”

The Formalist Quartet—a world-class string quartet from Los Angeles specialized in contemporary music—will present music by their own members (Mark Menzies, Andrew McIntosh, Andrew Tholl) and by composer Erik Ullman, as well as a premiere of a new microtonal work by Santa Barbara-based composer Federico Llach.

The local musician-run non-profit organization Cali2Cuba—whose mission is to promote the cultural exchange between California and Cuba—will present their group Los Rumberos de Cali. Los Rumberos de Cali believes that “music in the U.S. has been heavily influenced by Caribbean music” and seeks to bridge this neglected cultural link by “teaching and engaging our community with workshops, concerts, and outreach events.” The group's leader, Miguelito León, will present a workshop entitled, “The evolution of Afro-Cuban music,” followed by a concert of traditional Cuban folklore at the UCSB Multicultural Center.

Earlier Event: June 19
Spring Awakening
Later Event: September 2
Santa Barbara String Quartet